Pakistan chose to field...

Dhaka, Sunday   05 December 2021

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Pakistan chose to field

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 07:57 PM, 26 October 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

Pakistan, defeated India by 10 wickets in the first match, is now facing New Zealand in their second match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam has won the toss and decided to field in the 19th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup held at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE on Tuesday.

The match will start at 8:00 pm and will be aired on T-Sports and Gazi TV.

Pakistan, defeated India by 10 wickets in the first match, is looking for the second win and want to secure the semifinals in the early phase of the tournament. Pakistan squad will be unchanged, captain Babar Azam said.

New Zealand, on the other hand, wants to win their first match and looking to break the spirits of the team Pakistan.

Before the World Cup, New Zealand toured Pakistan with the second-tier team. But on the pretext of safety, the Kiwis canceled the series 45 minutes before the start of the match and returned to the country. That memory will undoubtedly affect today’s match. 

Before the start of the World Cup, Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) president Ramiz Raja said the cancellation of the tour would have to be answered on the World Cup stage. As a result, it can be said that the difficult test is waiting for New Zealand.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt.), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Kane Williamson (capt.), Tim Seifert (wk), Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi.