Pabna-4 constituency by-polls Sat...

Dhaka, Friday   30 October 2020

Pabna-4 constituency by-polls Sat

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 08:24 PM, 25 September 2020  

File Photo

File Photo

The by-polls to the Pabna-4 constituency will be held on Saturday as per the decision of the Election Commission (EC).

EC senior secretary Md Alamgir Kabir announced the schedule of by-polls’ date at EC building in the capital on August 23.

The polling day is announced as a public holiday.

The EC has already completed all the preparations to conduct elections.

The Pabna-4 parliamentary seat (Atgharia- Ishwardi) fell vacant after the death of Awami League lawmaker Shamsur Rahman Sherif on April 2.

According to EC sources, the Pabna-4 constituency consists of two upazilas (Ishwardi and Atgharia), two municipalities and 12 unions.

There are 84 polling stations in the constituency and the total number of voters is 3,81,112. Of these, 1,91,697 are male voters and 1,89,415 are female voters.

Awami League candidate Nuruzzaman, BNP nominated candidate Habibur Rahman Habib and Jatiya Party nominated candidate Rezaul Karim spent busy time on the last day of the campaign on Thursday.