PM opens five power plants...

Dhaka, Saturday   16 October 2021

PM opens five power plants

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:24 PM, 12 September 2021   Updated: 06:07 PM, 12 September 2021

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina - File Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina - File Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday inaugurated five power plants, having a total of 779-MW electricity generation capacity.

The power plants are 400-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant Bibiyana-3 in Habiganj, up-gradation of 150-MW Power Plant to 225-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant in Sylhet, 100-MW Power Plant Unit-2 at Zulda in Chattogram, 104-MW Power Plant at Meghnaghat in Narayanganj and 100-MW Power Plant at Madhumoti in Bagerhat.

The Premier joined the opening ceremony virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban in Dhaka as the chief guest.

Prime Minister's Power and Energy Advisor Dr Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury, Bir Bikram, State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid, Chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry Waseqa Ayesha Khan, Energy Division's Senior Secretary Md Anisur Rahman, Power Secretary Md Habibur Rahman, and Chairman of Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB) were present at Bijoy Hall of Bidyut Bhaban during the opening ceremony, while Prime Minister's Principal Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus was present at the Ganabhaban.

According to the ministry of power, the government has successfully installed 119 power plants with a capacity of 20,293-MW electricity production after assuming office in 2009.

It said the government, under the dynamic leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, had a target to generate 24,000-MW electricity by 2021, but the target has exceeded before the stipulated time.