PM hands over Ekushey Padak-2020...

Dhaka, Tuesday   09 March 2021

PM hands over Ekushey Padak-2020

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 02:07 PM, 20 February 2020   Updated: 05:03 PM, 20 February 2020

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today has handed over the prestigious “Ekushey Padak-2020” among 20 eminent persons and an organization on the eve of Amar Ekushey and the International Mother Language Day.

The prime minister distributed the Ekushey Padak, the second-highest civilian award in Bangladesh, at a function at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on Thursday morning.

State Minister for Cultural Affairs KM Khalid chaired the function organized by the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Secretary of the ministry Dr Abu Hena Mostafa Kamal delivered the welcome address, while Cabinet Secretary Khandaker Anwarul Islam conducted the award-giving ceremony and read out the citations of the awardees.

Cabinet members, PM’s advisors, judges, parliament members, the chiefs of three armed forces, foreign diplomats, litterateurs, poets, academics, writers, poets, journalists, Ekushey Award laureates of previous years and high civil and military officials attended the function.

This year’s ‘Ekushey Award’ winners are-

Late Aminul Islam Badsha (posthumous) (Language Movement)

Begum Dalia Nawshin (music)

Shankar Roy (music)

Begum Mita Haque (music)

Md Golam Mostafa Khan (dance)

SM Mohsin (acting)

Professor Dr Farida Zaman (fine arts)

Late Haji Akhter Sardar (posthumous) (Liberation War)

Abdul Jabbar (posthumous) (Liberation War)

Late Dr AAM Mesbahul Haque (Bachchu Daktar) (posthumous) (Liberation War)

Zafar Wazed (Ali Wazed Zafar) (journalism)

Dr Jahanagir Alam (research)

Hafez Kari Allama Syed Mohammad Saifur Rahman Nijami Shah (research)

Professor Dr Bikiran Prasad Barua (education)

Professor Dr Shamsul Alam (economics)

Sufi Mohammad Mizanur Rahman (social service)

Dr Nurun Nabi (language and literature)

Late Sikder Aminul Haque (posthumous) (language and literature)

Begum Nazmun Nesa Piyari (language and literature)

Professor Dr Sayeba Akhter (medical science)

Bangladesh Fisheries Research Institute won the award in research.

The ‘Ekushey Award’, the second-highest civilian award in Bangladesh, was introduced in memory of the martyrs of the Language Movement of 1952.

The award is given to individuals and organizations in recognition of contributions to a number of fields including liberation war, literature, music, education, journalism, poverty reduction, research, and visual arts.

The cultural affairs ministry confers the award with a gold medal, a certificate of honor and cash.

The nation is set to observe the “Amar Ekushey and the International Mother Language Day” tomorrow (February 21) to pay glowing tributes to the Language Movement martyrs who made supreme sacrifice for the cause of the mother tongue on this day in 1952.