Alexa PM directed not to buy ‘DEMU’ train more

Dhaka, Saturday   24 August 2019


PM directed not to buy ‘DEMU’ train more

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 05:21 PM, 16 July 2019   Updated: 05:23 PM, 16 July 2019

File Photo

File Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has ordered to not buy Diesel Electric Multi-Unit (Demu) train any more. She said, earlier Demu trains have not been of much benefit to passengers and many have been wasted. So this train will not be bought again.

The Prime Minister gave this directive at the meeting of the Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) held at the NEC conference room in Sher-e-Bangla Nagar in the capital on Tuesday morning, while Prime Minister and ECNEC chairperson Sheikh Hasina was in the chair.

Sources said, as the Planning Minister MA Mannan in abroad now, the Planning Division Secretary Md. Nurul Amin told the media at the press conference after the meeting, on behalf of him. In today's ECNEC meeting, Although the proposal of DEMU collection project for the launch of a shuttle train between Bangabandhu Highway Park and Dhaka, was presented to the Prime Minisater, she ordered to make change, without passing it.

In this context, Secretary Nurul Amin said that the Prime Minister said about the DEMU project, there are many Demu trains earlier, and those were seen troubled when passengers loaded in them. That's why the Prime Minister has asked to amend the project to collect another train instead of Demu. For this, it has not been approved.

He said, instead of Demu train, another train will be provided. The Prime Minister instructed that there will be no new Demu trains yet. The Prime Minister has also directed to launch a non-stop train from Dhaka to Kaliakoir.

Pointing to the Prime Minister's instruction, Nurul Amin said that a train to Kaliakoir will be available from Dhaka directly. This arrangement should be kept. The rest will left in any station. The Prime Minister has proposed to launch such a project by examining.

In the ECNEC meeting, Agriculture Minister Abdur Razzak, Information Minister Hasan Mahmud, Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Tajul Islam, Education Minister Dipu Moni, Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, Health and Family Welfare Minister Zahid Malek, Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi, Housing and Public Works Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change Md. Shahab Uddin, Land Minister Saifuzzaman Chowdhury and concerned state ministers of ministries and officials were present among others.