Oikyafront’s Mansur-Mokabbir to be sworn in Mar 7 ...

Dhaka, Wednesday   23 September 2020

Oikyafront’s Mansur-Mokabbir to be sworn in Mar 7 

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 05:03 PM, 5 March 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

The elected MPs of the Oikyafront in the 11th parliamentary polls, Sultan Muhammad Mansur and Mokabbir Khan will take oath at Parliament House on Thursday at 11:00 pm.

Parliament Secretariat informed this on Tuesday.

Earlier on Saturday, the two candidates who were elected MPs from Ganoforum banner of Jatiya Oikyafront gave a letter to the Speaker about taking oath. 

Later, Speaker’s private secretary MA Kamal Billah said that the Speaker has given time for the oath-taking to Ganoforum’s both leaders who were elected MPs in the 11th parliamentary polls.  

In the 11th parliamentary elections that were held on December 30, Sultan Muhammad Mansur Ahmed elected from Moulvibazar-2 constituency as Jatiya Oikyafront candidate with BNP’s ‘Paddy Sheath’ symbol and Mokabbir Khan elected from Sylhet-2 with Ganoforum’s ‘Rising Sun’ symbol. 

Though BNP lost huge marginally, 8 candidates of BNP including alliances came out victorious. Of them, Sultan Muhammad Mansur Ahmed and Mokabbir Khan elected from Dr Kamal’s Ganoforum. 

On January 3, the elected members of the 11th National Parliament were sworn in. But they did not swear at that time as the Jatiya Oikyafront decided not to take oath. 

But recently, Sultan Mansur and Mokabbir Khan, both leaders of Oikyafront, decided to take oath by ignoring Dr Kamal Hossain’s decision.