Alexa Oikyafront to file lawsuit in election tribunal

Dhaka, Tuesday   16 July 2019

Oikyafront to file lawsuit in election tribunal

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 06:21 PM, 3 January 2019   Updated: 06:21 PM, 3 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

In the newly held 11th parliamentary elections, the Jatiya Oikyafront candidates have decided to file cases with the election tribunal in their respective seats with the allegations of vote fraud.  

The decision was taken at a meeting of the candidates of the BNP chairperson’s office in Gulshan on Thursday.

After the meeting, BNP Legal Affairs Advocate Kaiser Kamal said this. He was the candidate of ‘Paddy Sheath’ symbol from Netrokona-1 constituency.  

Asked whether any decision has been made about those who have been elected to the front, Kaiser said, “BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman, including the senior leaders of the OIkyafront, will take the decision.”

Before going to the meeting, Gonoforum General Secretary Mustafa Mohsin Montu said, “Since we have rejected this election, there is no question of taking the oath.”  

Responding to a question of reporters at the time, he said, “If anyone takes an oath even after this, they will be betrayed the nation.”  

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Standing Committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Nazrul Islam Khan, Krishak Sramik Janata League president Kader Siddiqui, JSD president ASM Abdur Rab, Gonoforum executive president Subrata Chowdhury were also present.