No Mahmudullah, Mushy back for Zimbabwe Test...

Dhaka, Sunday   07 March 2021

No Mahmudullah, Mushy back for Zimbabwe Test

 Sports Desk

 Published: 04:47 PM, 16 February 2020   Updated: 04:48 PM, 16 February 2020

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced Mominul Haque led 16-men squad for one-off Test against Zimbabwe. The experienced wicketkeeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim has returned to the squad while veteran batsman Mahmudullah Riyad dropped.

The BCB on Sunday announced the squad with four changes from the last test against Pakistan in Rawalpindi. 

Besides, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain and Al-Amin Hossain also dropped from the Test squad. Soumya is going to marry on February 28, that's why he asked BCB not to conceder him for the lone- Test against Zimbabwe.

Mehidy Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman also find a place in the squad along with Taskin Ahmed, who last played a Test in 2017. The selectors have also handed maiden call-ups to middle-order batsman Yasir Ali and medium pacer Hasan Mahmud.

Taskin made Test call up for his good bowling in BCL. Yasir Ali and Hasan Mahmood are waiting for the Test debut. The 'expert' spinners in the squad are three- Taijul, Naeem and Mehdi. Part-time spinner Yasir. The four pacers are accompanied by Ebadat, Taskin, Mustafizur and Hasan Mahmud.

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu said: “I believe we have selected the best possible Test team in the current situation. There is a very nice mix of experiences and potential.

"Unfortunately some players have had to get out. However, the balance and continuity aspect has been given priority. We think Mahmudullah needs a break from the red ball." said Nannu. 

"Al-Amin has niggles and that's why we thought he should be given the time to be fully ready for the limited-overs matches where he is more important. Rubel is not part of our red ball plans for the moment. Soumya had applied for leave and therefore has not been considered. We think Hasan Mahmud and Yasir Ali Chowdhury have tremendous potential and they are very much part of our future plans." the chief selector added.

After starting their tour with a two-day warm-up game against BCB XI, Zimbabwe will play the only Test from February 22. The two sides will then play three ODIs and two T20Is from March 1.

Bangladesh Squad: Mominul Haque (c), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Yasir Ali.