No BNP MPs-elect take oath

Dhaka, Monday   17 June 2019

No BNP MPs-elect take oath

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:42 PM, 3 January 2019   Updated: 12:42 PM, 3 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

The newly-elected lawmakers have been sworn in on Thursday as lawmakers to the Jatiya Sangsad. However, no opposition BNP or Jatiya Oikyafront elects were seen in the oath-taking ceremony. 

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury conducted the oath under the moderation of Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan, senior secretary to the parliament secretariat, at the 'Oath Room' in the parliament building. 

The outgoing Speaker first took oath herself as an MP and then administered the oath to other AL MPs at the Oath Room of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

Firstly, 257 freshly elected Awami League lawmakers were sworn in. Next, 22 lawmakers elected from Jatiya Party were sworn in at the parliament. 

The polling was held between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm peacefully amid a festivity in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday last as voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was suspended due to death of a candidate earlier.

However, the results of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency was postponed as voting in three centers of the constituency was suspended.

According to the results of the poll, Awami League bagged 259 seats, HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats while BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gonoforum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiya Party (JP) one seat and independent candidates got three seats.