Dhaka, Thursday   21 March 2019

New gov within hour

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 03:13 PM, 7 January 2019   Updated: 03:13 PM, 7 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

New government is going to take oath within an hour. Awami League President Sheikh Hasina is heading towards a fresh start forming her third consecutive government with 31 new faces of the 47-member cabinet.

The new cabinet will comprise of 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and 3 deputy ministers.

The new members of cabinet members will take oath at the Bangabhaban around 3.30pm on Monday.

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will take oath as the prime minister for the fourth term and the third term in a row.

The 24 ministers of the new cabinet are - Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader, Agriculture Minister Md Abdur Razzak, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan, Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anisul Haque, Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal, LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Md Tajul Islam, Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni, Foreign Affairs Minister AK Abdul Momen, Planning Minister MA Mannan, Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, Textiles and Jute Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, Health and Family Welfare Minister Zahid Maleque, Food Minister Sadhan Chandra Majumder, Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi, Social Welfare Minister Nuruzzaman Ahmed, Housing and Public Works Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Md Shahab Uddin, CHT Affairs Minister Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing, Land Minister Saifuzzaman Chowdhury, Railways Minister Md Nurul Islam Sujon, Science and Technology Affairs Minister Architect Yeafesh Osman and Posts, Telecommunication and Information Technology Minister Mostafa Jabbar.

The 19 state ministers are - Kamal Ahmed Majumder for Industries, Imran Ahmed for Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment, Zahid Ahsan Russell for Youth and Sports, Nasrul Hamid for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources, Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru for Fisheries and Livestock, Begum Munnujan Sufian for Labour and Employment, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury for Shipping, Md Zakir Hossain for Primary and Mass Education, Md Shahriar Alam for Foreign Affairs, Junaid Ahmed Palak for ICT Division, Farhad Hossain for Public Administration, Swapan Bhattacharya for LGRD and Cooperatives, Zahid Faruque for Water Resources, Md Murad Hasan for Health and Family Welfare, Sharif Ahmed for Social Welfare, KM Khalid for Cultural Affairs, Dr Md Enamur Rahman for Disaster Management and Relief, Md Mahbub Ali for Civil Aviation and Tourism and Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah for Religious Affairs.

Three deputy ministers are Begum Habibun Nahar for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, AKM Enamul Haque Shamim for Water Resources and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury for Education.

Those who are excluded from the cabinet are --  

A total of 35 people, including the full minister, were dropped from the cabinet of the Awami League led by Awami League in the 10th Parliament. Of these, 23 were excluded from the full minister's post, 10 were excluded from the state minister and two were dropped from the deputy minister.

Those excluded from the full minister include Abul Maal Abdul Muhith (Finance), Amir Hossain Amu (Industries), Tofail Ahmed (Commerce), Begum Matia Chowdhury (Agriculture), Mohammad Nasim (Health), Khondoker Mosharraf Hossain (LGRD), Rashed Khan Menon (Social Welfare Ministry), Engineer Mosharraf Hossain (Ministry of Housing and Public Works), Muhammad Imaz Uddin Pramanik (Textile and Jute) Anwar Hossain (Water Resources Ministry), Nurul Islam Nahid (Education), Shajahan Khan (Ministry of Shipping), Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury (Ministry of Environment), Anisul Islam Mahmud (Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change), Hasanul Haque Inu (Information Ministry) Maya, BiBi (Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief), Abul Hasan Mahmud Ali (Foreign Affairs), Md. Mujibul Haque (Ministry of Railways), Mostafizur Rahman (Primary and Mass Education Ministry), Asaduzzaman Noor (Cultural Affairs), Shamsur Rahman Sharif (Lands), Kamrul Islam (food), Narayan Chandra Chanda (Ministry of Fisheries and Livestock), and KM Shahjahan Kamal (Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism).

Among the state ministers who were excluded from the previous cabinet are: Md. Mujibul Haque Chunnu (Ministry of Labor and Employment), Mirza Azam (Ministry of Textile and Jute), Dr. Biren Shikdar (Ministry of Youth and Sports), Ismat Ara Sadek (Ministry of Public Administration), Meher Afroz (Ministry of Women and Children Affairs), Tarana Halim (Information Ministry), Mohammad Nazrul Islam (Water Resources Ministry), Md Mashiur Rahman Ranga (Rural Development And co-operative department), Kazi Keramat Ali (technical and madrasa education department) and Kazi Keramat Ali (technical and madrasa education department).

Besides, two deputy ministers of the previous cabinet were excluded from the cabinet. The two are Abdullah Al Islam Jacob (Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change) and Arif Khan Joy (Ministry of Youth and Sports).

Meanwhile, Bangabhaban is set to hold the oath-taking ceremony of the new cabinet, led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. The President will administer the oath of the new cabinet members at 3:30 pm.