Alexa New Zealand wins first ODI by 61 runs

Dhaka, Monday   16 December 2019

New Zealand wins first ODI by 61 runs

 Sports Desk Daily-Bangladesh

 Published: 06:07 PM, 6 January 2018   Updated: 07:12 PM, 6 January 2018

Kane Williamson scored a brilliant century and Tim Southee captured three wickets in a tremendous spell which guide New Zealand to victory over Pakistan in a rain-shortened One Day International on Saturday.

New Zealand gained the victory in the match by 61 runs under the Duckworth-Lewis system to take a 1-0 lead in the five-game series while ending Pakistan´s nine-match winning streak in ODIs.

With Williamson top scoring with 115 off 117 balls, New Zealand scored a total 315 for seven wickets on a wet and windy day at the Basin Reserve.

Pakistan was struggling at 161-6 in the 31st over when rain forced the players from the field before play was eventually called off. Opening batsman Fakhar Zaman finished unbeaten on 82 but received little support from his teammates.

Southee delivers a successive delivery in the first when he dismissed Azhar Ali and Babar Azam in a leg before wicket. He missed out a hat-trick but dismissed Shoaib Malik, caught behind for 13 after Mohammad Hafeez fell to a Trent Boult bouncer for one which left Pakistan in deep trouble at 37-4 long before the rain set in.

Pakistan had won the toss and chose to field first.

For more than 20 overs the umpires kept the bails off after they tired of repeatedly replacing them after they were blown away.

Kane Williamson battered eight fours and one six to reach his 10th ODI century after he was given a life on 26 when dropped by wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed. With Henry Nicholls, they shared a 90-run partnership off 80 balls, the end for Williamson came in the 48th over when he steered a Rumman Raees delivery to the safe hands of Hasan Ali who was central in most of the key New Zealand wickets.

Hassan Ali took a total of three wickets; Colin Munroe (58) and Henry Nicholls (50) were both caught behind off Hasan who also bowled Ross Taylor for 12 to finish with three for 61. While Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman took one each.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was declared Man of the Match for his brilliant century in windy conditions.

The second match in the series will be held in Nelson on Tuesday.

Earlier, Pakistani skipper Sarfraz Ahmed had expressed hope that his team will continue its winning streak in the five-match ODI series against New Zealand.

Daily Bangladesh/Adnan