Netherlands opt to bat...

Dhaka, Tuesday   30 November 2021

Netherlands opt to bat

 Sports Desk

 Published: 03:39 PM, 18 October 2021   Updated: 03:56 PM, 18 October 2021

Netherlands opt to bat

Netherlands opt to bat

Netherlands have won the toss and decided to bat first in their first Group A qualifiers of ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 against Netherlands at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Netherlands skipper Pieter Seelar reckons it "looks a pretty good wicket, we want to get runs on the board and put pressure on them".

Ireland will be able to rely on a gun opening pair, with Paul Stirling and Kevin O'Brien bringing bucketloads of power and knowhow. Stirling, in particular, is in regal form - and glad to be back on the biggest stage, five years after Ireland's last ICC tournament appearance. The middle-order is less certain, but the performance of Gareth Delany, in particular, during a warm-up win over Bangladesh was encouraging.

Netherland, meanwhile, have plenty of veteran savvy, with 41-year-old Ryan ten Doeschate back on the big stage, more than a decade after his sparkling performances at the 2011 50-over World Cup. Stephan Myburgh - who went Sylhet bang! against Ireland seven years ago - has also returned after two years out of the side, and they have proven performers from county cricket in Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe and Timm van der Gugten. 

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Andrew Balbirnie(c), Gareth Delany, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, Neil Rock(w), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Benjamin White, Joshua Little

Netherlands (Playing XI): Max ODowd, Ben Cooper, Bas de Leede, Colin Ackermann, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards(w), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelaar(c), Logan van Beek, Fred Klaassen, Brandon Glover