NZ seal series with easy win in rain-hit 2nd T20I...

Dhaka, Tuesday   18 May 2021

NZ seal series with easy win in rain-hit 2nd T20I

 Sports Desk

 Published: 04:51 PM, 30 March 2021   Updated: 04:52 PM, 30 March 2021

Liton Das

Liton Das

Bangladesh got a golden opportunity to beat New Zealand on their own soil. At one point it seemed like the long wait of two decades was coming to an end. However, despite raising hopes, the Tigers gave a disappointing gift in the end. Mahmudullah Riyadh's team lost the second T20 match of the series by 28 runs.

After the game was stopped for the second time due to the rain, Bangladesh was set a target of 170 in 16 overs in the DLS method. In reply, Bangladesh finished their innings scoring 142 runs for 7 wickets. Soumya Sarkar was the top scorer for Bangladesh with 51 off 27 while Naim Sheikh made 35-ball 38.

Naeem Sheikh and Liton Das came down to chase the run for Bangladesh. The Tigers' target was 147 runs in 16 overs. But the umpires stopped the game after 1.3 overs. It is then known that the match officials made a mistake. As a result, after the game was stopped for a while, the game started with a new target of 170.

Liton was out after the target was rescheduled. He dismissed for 6 runs. After that the majestic Soumya Sarkar started a counter-attack. Naeem accompanied him to the other end. Soumya picked up the fifth with just 25 balls. Before dismissed by Tim Southee Soumya made a 27-ball 51 with the help of 3 sixes and 5 fours.

Naeem, who was at the other end, played like ODI and returned for 38 off 35 balls. Bangladesh could not get out of this pressure. When skipper Mahmudullah bowled for 21 runs, Bangladesh's dream of victory came to an end.

The remaining batsmen have only reduced the margin of defeat in the procession of hope. Mithun's 1, Saifuddin's 3, or Mahedi's unbeaten 12 was not enough to win the match. 

Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett, and Adam Milne took two wickets each for the Kiwis.

Earlier, Tiger captain Mahmudullah Riyad decided to field after winning the toss at McLean Park in Napier. Martin Guptill and Finn Allen opened the innings for New Zealand. The two were aggressive from the start.

Taskin came to bowl in the fourth over of the innings and made a chance of wicket but Riyad could not take the catch. However, Taskin took Allen's wicket on the last ball of the same over and Bangladesh did not pay much for the catch miss. Finn Allen scored 17 off 10.

Mohammad Saifuddin and Taskin Ahmed made Bangladesh happy with the last ball of the last over of the power play. Taskin took a brilliant catch off Saifuddin to dismiss Guptill for 21 runs.

Mohammad Shariful, who made his debut in the previous match, returned the dangerous convoy for 15 runs after one ball. Mohammad Mithun took his catch. Will Young and Glenn Phillips tried to take the helm of the team after losing 3 wickets quickly. Mahedi Hasan took the wicket of Will Young.

The game was stopped after 12.2 overs due to rain. After the resumption of the game, Bangladesh returned to its familiar rhythm. This time Mahedi dismissed Mark Chapman through cut and bold.

New Zealand then launched a counter-attack. Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell keep pushing the ball one by one. The duo added 62 runs off just 25 balls before the game stopped again in the rain. Earlier, Phillips picked up the fifty off 27 balls.

Before the game was stopped due to rain, the Blackcaps collected 173 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 17.5 overs. Mahedi took 2 wickets for Bangladesh. Besides, Taskin, Shariful, and Saifuddin took one wicket each.