Alexa Myanmar state counselor titles ‘Rohingya genocide’ as minor issue

Dhaka, Sunday   19 January 2020


Myanmar state counselor titles ‘Rohingya genocide’ as minor issue

 International Desk

 Published: 02:49 PM, 12 December 2019   Updated: 02:50 PM, 12 December 2019



Myanmar State Counselor Aung San Suu Kyi thinks the massacre run on Rohingya Muslim minorities in Rakhine is a minor issue. She also described the world’s shaking tragedy of the Rohingya genocide shouldn’t be heard by the UN’s highest court.

Suu Kyi stood in favor of the genocide on the second day of the Rohingya genocide case at the International Court of Justice (ICJ) on Wednesday.

Defending for the genocide in the court, she said that if the country's military had committed war crimes, it would be settled in Myanmar's domestic investigations and judiciary. It has no chance of internationalization.

She also claimed the Genocide Convention of 1948 shouldn’t be applied to the Rohingya massacre issue.

The West African country Gambia filed a lawsuit against Myanmar in the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague, Netherlands, over the Rohingya genocide in November.

The case has been hearing from Tuesday and will continue till Thursday.

Without uttering the word Rohingya, Suu Kyi said that accusations of excessive force in the Rakhine's military operation could not be dismissed, but assuming that the motive of the massacre was behind it - it would not be fair in the complex reality of Myanmar.

Suu Kyi described the recent massacre in Rakhine as a result of the conflict.

Although she recognized that there may have been hundreds of deaths in the military operation, he said internal investigations and the judiciary are working on it.

Meanwhile, seven Nobel peace laureates called on Aung San Suu Kyi to publicly acknowledge crimes, including genocide, committed against the Rohingya in Myanmar.

The bold seven Nobel laureates are-- Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Laureate (2003) – Iran; Leymah Gbowee, (2011) – Liberia; Tawakkol Karman, (2011) – Yemen; Mairead Maguire, (1976) – Northern Ireland; Rigoberta Menchú Tum, (1992) – Guatemala; Jody Williams, (1997) – USA; and Kailash Satyarthi, (2014) – India.