Mohiuddin gets AL ticket in Dhaka-10 by-polls

Dhaka, Thursday   09 April 2020


Mohiuddin gets AL ticket in Dhaka-10 by-polls

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 11:28 PM, 15 February 2020   Updated: 11:32 PM, 15 February 2020

Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin

Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin

Awami League has finalized the party's candidate for the by-polls of the recently vacated five parliamentary seats and Chattogram City Corporation.

The names of the candidates were finalized at a joint meeting of the party's parliamentary board and local government nomination board headed by Awami League President Sheikh Hasina on Saturday night.

Former FBCCI president Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin has been nominated in Dhaka-10 parliamentary seat while Umme Kulsum Smriti, general secretary of the Krishak League in Gaibandha-3, Amirul Alam Milan in Bagerhat-4, Sahadara Mannan in Bogura-1 and Shahin Chakladar in Jashore-6 constituency.

Meanwhile, Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, a joint secretary of its Chattogram Metropolitan unit, for the mayor elections to the port city.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission on February 6, the by-elections of Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies will be held on March 21. However, the schedule for the by-elections of Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 seats has not yet been announced.