Mamata ahead in West Bengal’s Bhabanipur by-polls...

Dhaka, Tuesday   26 October 2021

Mamata ahead in West Bengal’s Bhabanipur by-polls

 International Desk

 Published: 11:08 AM, 3 October 2021   Updated: 01:19 PM, 3 October 2021

Mamata Banerjee; File Photo

Mamata Banerjee; File Photo

The vote-counting for West Bengal’s Bhabanipur Vidhan Sabha constituency by-election has been underway. At the end of the 2nd round of EVM counting, Mamata Banerjee was ahead by a margin of about 2,500 votes. The results will be published after counting a total of 21 rounds.

It is learned that the counting of votes began at 8 am local time. Strict security measures have been taken at the counting centers. The local police deployed in the first zone while the state police deployed in the second zone. The central forces, on the other hand, have been deployed in the third zone — they were given the charge of security outside the vote-counting center. “Section-144” has been issued within 200 meters of the counting center.

In Bhabanipur, Mamata’s main rival – BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal – both camps are optimistic about victory. However, according to Indian media reports, Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee is going to win the by-elections by a “wide margin”. 

Bhabanipur in South Kolkata is Mamata's own den. She is not only a resident of this constituency but also won the 2011 and 2016 elections from this constituency and became the Chief Minister.

Amid Kolkata’s Covid situation, Mamata did not contest from Bhabanipur in the March-April assembly elections and lost by a narrow margin in the Nandigram constituency. However, she became the Chief Minister as per the constitution.

Meanwhile, according to the constitutional rules of assembly elections, Mamata has an obligation to be elected MLA within six months. As a result, Mamata had to go to the by-elections to retain the post of Chief Minister.

Trinamool candidate Sobhan Dev Chatterjee has given Mamata this opportunity. Despite winning from Bhabanipur, he resigned as MLA and left the seat for Chief Minister Mamata.