Dhaka, Friday   22 March 2019

All four technocrat ministers quit

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 09:48 PM, 6 November 2018   Updated: 09:48 PM, 6 November 2018

File Photo

File Photo

Hours after Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina asked them to step down, four technocrat ministers of the current cabinet resigned on Tuesday evening.

Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul Islam BSc, Religious Affairs Minister Principal Matior Rahman, Science and Technology Minister Architect Yafesh Osman and Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Minister Mustafa Jabbar rendered their resignation letters to the Prime Minister through the Cabinet Division.

Nurul Islam’s personal secretary Abul Hasnat Humayun Kabir submitted his resignation letter to the Cabinet Division around 6:30 pm, said his assistant private secretary-2 Niaj Morshed Niru.  

Motiur’s personal secretary Anwar Hossain said he submitted the religious affairs minister’s resignation letter to the Cabinet Division around 7:15 pm.

Meanwhile, Science and Technology Minister submitted his resignation letter through his personal assistant Ujjal Chowdhury after 6:00 pm.

Mustafa Jabbar’s resignation was submitted to the Cabinet Division, said a source at the division.

Earlier in the day, the Prime Minister directed the four technocrat ministers to quit the cabinet, said Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader while talking to reporters at Ganobhaban after the Cabinet meeting.

He, however, said the other ministers will remain there as usual in their respective posts.