Mahmudullah XI beat Tamim XI by 5 wickets...

Dhaka, Thursday   29 October 2020

Mahmudullah XI beat Tamim XI by 5 wickets

BCB President’s Cup

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:49 PM, 13 October 2020   Updated: 08:52 PM, 13 October 2020

Mahmudullah XI beat Tamim XI by 5 wickets; Photo: BCB

Mahmudullah XI beat Tamim XI by 5 wickets; Photo: BCB

Mahmudullah XI recovered from an early wobble to record a five-wicket win over Tamim XI in the second match of the BCB President’s Cup at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Chasing a modest target of 104, Mahmudullah XI was reduced to 13-3 before staging a good fightback to race to the victory in 27 overs, making 106-5.

Nurul Hasan Sohan was the highest scorer for the side with 41 not out, hitting six fours and one six while Mominul Haque made 39 off 62 with six fours.

They shared a little but significant 38-run partnership to help the side claw back into the game, after they were reduced to 39-4.

They started chasing this paltry as awfully as it could be, losing three wickets without any run to the board.

Mustafizur Rahman and Saifuddin caused havoc, giving the side a ray of hope to defend such little total. Mustafizur trapped Naim Sheikh for naught while Saifuddin dealt a double blow in his first over.

Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah Riyad provided a 39-run partnership to stop the rut. Mahmudullah was out for 10.

Mominul and Nurul Hasan Sohan then looked set to finish the game off but the former was bowled out by Taijul with the side 27 runs away to the victory.

Saifuddin and Taijul bagged two wickets apiece.

In their opening match of the tournament, Tamim XI looked clueless as they came up with disgraceful batting to be dismissed for 103 in 23.1 overs. The match was reduced to 47 overs due to a spell of showers while Tamim XI was batting.

Mahmudullah XI however won the toss and chose to bowl first which their bowlers proved a right decision.

Fast bowler Rubel Hossain was to the fore, claiming 3-16 and was perfectly aided by fellow paceman Sumon Khan who also scalped three wickets for 31 runs. Off-spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz and leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob grabbed two wickets apiece.

Rubel started the carnage, trapping opponent’s captain Tamim Iqbal leg-before for 2. Tamim’s namesake Tanzid Hasan Tamim and Anamul Haque Bijoy looked to revive the innings as they were playing with utmost confidence.

But after the rain break, Rubel came up with first and firstly removed Tanzid Tamim with one that carried extra pace. Tanzid was out for a team’s highest 27.

Sumon Khan then appeared on the stage and sliced the middle order along with Rubel Hossain.

Anamul though kept his wicket amid the wickets falling around him but eventually played a rash shot to throw his wicket scoring 25.

Mahedi Hasan then played a fluent 19 runs knock before being dismissed. The other batsmen however feel like a pack of cards.

Brief Score:

Tamim XI 103 all out in 23.1 overs (Tanzid Tamim 27, Anamul Bijoy 25, Mahedi Hasan 19; Rubel 3-16, Sumon 3-31, Miraz 2-2, Biplob 2-16)

Mahmudullah X 106-5 in 27 overs (Sohan 41 not out, Mominul 39, Mahmudullah 10; Saifuddin 2-8, Taijul 2-27).

Result: Mahmudullah XI wins by 5 wickets.