Long-awaited T20 World Cup screening today...

Dhaka, Monday   06 December 2021

Long-awaited T20 World Cup screening today

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 12:33 PM, 17 October 2021   Updated: 03:19 PM, 17 October 2021

File Photo

File Photo

After a long wait, the seventh edition of the T20 World Cup is finally screening from today with the qualifying round. However, the game of the main round of the World Cup will start on October 23.

Hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea will play in the opening match of the qualifying round today at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman. The red-green Bangladesh team will face Scotland in another match of the day.

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which was withdrawn from India to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to the COVID pandemic, ended successfully last Friday night. Now, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) aims to successfully host the T20 World Cup.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is hosting the T20 World Cup this year, however, due to Covid-19, the BCCI and the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to hold the World Cup in the UAE instead of India. After successfully organizing the IPL, the ECB wants to end the short version of the World Cup nicely. Although the main game of the tournament will be in the UAE. The qualifying round is being held in Oman.

A total of 16 teams are taking part in this year’s T20I World Cup. There are eight teams in the two groups of the qualifying round. Moreover, there are eight teams in two groups in Super Twelve.  

In the qualifying round, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Namibia and the Netherlands will play in Group A. Bangladesh is in Group B. Their opponents there are Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland.

Australia, South Africa, England and defending champions West Indies are in Group 1 of the Super 12. Group 2 includes India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan.

The top two teams in the points table from each of the two groups in the qualifying round will get tickets to play in the Super 12  with eight teams, as a result, there will be a total of 12 teams in the Super 12. If Bangladesh wants to play in Super 12, they will have to pass the qualifying round.

The champion of Group A and the runners-up of Group B from the qualifying round will play in Group 1 of Super 12. The runners-up in Group A and the champion of Group B will play in Group-2.

There are two matches on the first day of the T20I World Cup. Hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea will play at 4 pm Bangladesh time. Bangladesh and Scotland will face at 8 pm Bangladesh time.

In 2016, Oman played in the T20I World Cup for the first time. They played three matches - one win, one lost, one postponed match - in that tournament. They lost in the first round of the event. Besides, Papua New Guinea is playing for the first time in the T20I World Cup. This is the first time Oman and Papua New Guinea are facing each other in international cricket.

Oman has played 36 T20 matches – 16 wins, 19 losses, and one postponed – in the international arena. Papua New Guinea, on the other hand, played 28 matches – 17 wins, 10 losses, and one postponed match. 

Meanwhile, Bangladesh has played 113 matches – 41 wins, 70 losses, 2 postponed matches – in the T20 format. Scotland played 70 T20I matches – 31 wins, 35 losses, one tie, and three postponed matches.

The main phase of the World Cup or Super 12 will start on October 23. The fight for the Super 12 will end on November 8. The top four teams in the points table of the two groups of the Super 12 will get tickets to the semifinals. The semifinals will be held on November 10 in Abu Dhabi and November 11 in Dubai. 

The final will be held on November 14 in Dubai. The two winning teams from the two semifinals will play the final. Reserve-day has been set for the finals.

Meanwhile, the West Indies are the two-time champions in the previous six editions of the World Cup. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won the title once.