Lankans play 21 balls on 3rd day, declare innings on 493/7...

Dhaka, Sunday   09 May 2021

Lankans play 21 balls on 3rd day, declare innings on 493/7

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 11:27 AM, 1 May 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh took to the field for the third day of the final and 2nd Test against Sri Lanka at Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium on Saturday. In the early morning of the first session, the host Lankans batted only 21 balls and declared their innings at 493 after losing 7 wickets. 

The Sri Lankans finished the 2nd day with 469/6. Niroshan Dickwella and Ramesh Mendis have been playing aggressively since the morning on the third day. Mendis, who scored 33 off Taskin's ball, was dismissed and the innings was declared by Sri Lankan captain Dimuth Karunaratne. At the other end, Dickwella was unbeaten on 77 runs.

Earlier in the first hour of the 2nd day, Lahiru Thirimanne returned to the dressing room after being caught by wicketkeeper Liton Das off Taskin’s ball. He scored 140 runs before being dismissed. Matthews, who came in his place, was caught behind the third ball before opening the run score. However, he survived as no one from Bangladesh appealed.

But luckily Matthews could not make it big even though he got life. Liton’s great catch behind the wicket in Taskin’s ball, he went to dressing room only for 5 runs. Dhananjay de Silva caught on a slip by Shanto off Taijul for only 2 runs.

In the first session, Bangladesh gave only 43 runs in 28 overs. The Tigers continued their success in the second session as well. Oshada Fernando completed fifty with one end. Mehidy Hasan Miraz returned this dangerous batsman into Liton’s catch for 81 runs.

In the previous over, Taskin bowled Pathum Nissanka and took his third wicket of the match. Adding just 91 runs on the 2nd day, the bowlers took five wickets to tie the Lankans to a few runs. But that opportunity could not be used due to catch miss and bad fielding.

Taskin, Bangladesh’s most successful bowler in the first innings, took four wickets.


Sri Lanka (1st innings): Thirimanne 140, Karunaratne 118, Fernando 81, Dickwella 77; Taskin 127/4.