Landslide victory for Awami League

Dhaka, Thursday   27 June 2019

Landslide victory for Awami League

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 06:33 AM, 31 December 2018   Updated: 12:21 PM, 31 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

The Awami League-led Grand Alliance clinched a landslide victory with over two-thirds majority in the 11th general elections amid festivity. 

Of the Grand Alliance,  the ruling Awami League alone got 259 seats while Jatiya Party 20 in the elections.  

The massive victory gave the Grand Alliance yet another chance to form the government for the third consecutive terms. The win also paved the way for Awami League President Sheikh Hasina to lead the government as Prime Minister for the fourth times and third times in a row.

The election commission so far announced unofficially the results of 298 seats of the 300-seat parliament for this general election that witnessed the participation of all major political parties.

Out of the 299 seats where elections were held, the grand alliance won in 288 constituencies, including 259 seats bagged by Awami League. Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiya Oikyafront won in 7 constituencies.

Voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was postponed due to the death of a candidate earlier and the results of Brahmanbaria-2 seat will be announced after re-election in its three centres.

HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats with “plough” symbol and independent candidates got three seats.

The Awami League-led grand alliance has swept the polls as the Election Commission officials said a large number of voters exercised their franchise to elect the country’s 11th parliament.

Foreign observers and independent polls monitor groups said the election was held in a free, fair and peaceful manner, maintaining the world standard.

However, after the end of the polls time, Jatiya Oikyafront top leader Dr Kamal Hossain demanded of the Election Commission to give fresh election alleging that massive vote rigging took place in different constituencies. 

Awami League president Sheikh Hasina, BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Jatiya Party president HM Ershad, a key ally of Awami League- led grand alliance, won the polls from their respective constituencies.