Kabori buried at Banani Graveyard...

Dhaka, Tuesday   18 May 2021

Kabori buried at Banani Graveyard

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 02:43 PM, 17 April 2021  

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Eminent Actress and former Member of Parliament (MP) Sarah Begum Kabori laid to rest at Banani Graveyard after Zuhr prayers on Saturday. 

Earlier in the day, her son Shaker Chishty said, “The body will be kept at the Lake Road in Gulshan-2 house for a while. It will be taken to the Banani Graveyard area before Zuhr prayers… Then she will be buried at the Graveyard in the capital after a namaz-e-janaza and a guard of honour.” 

Kabori, known as the ‘Mishti Meye’ of the Bangladeshi silver screen, passed away at 12:20 am on Saturday at the capital’s Sheikh Russel National Gastroliver Institute and Hospital. She was 70.

She was admitted to Kurmitola General Hospital in the capital on April 5 while she was testing positive for Covid-19. Later, she was shifted to the ICU in Sheikh Russel National Gastroliver Institute and Hospital on April 8. As her condition deteriorated, she was put on life support at the hospital on April 15. 

The 70-year-old actress had been suffering from kidney complications for a long time. Her lungs also suffered severe damage after contracting Covid-19.

Actress Kabori was born on 19 July 1950 in Banshkhali, Chattogram district. Her real name is Mina Pal. She made her film debut with “Sutorang” in 1964 under the direction of Subhash Dutt.

She has acted in more than one hundred films. ‘Sat Bhai Champa’, ‘Jalchhabi’, ‘Binimoy’, ‘Deep Nebhe Nai’, ‘Titash Ekti Nodir Nam’, ‘Rangbaj’, ‘Sujan Sakhi’, ‘Agantuk’, ‘Nil Akasher Niche’, ‘Moynamoti’, ‘Sareng Bou’, ‘Debdas’, ‘Hiramon’, ‘Chorabali’, ‘Paruler Sangshar’ are notable among them.

She received many awards and honors for her performance, including the National Film Awards, Meril-Prothom Alo Lifetime Achievement Award.

Besides acting in films, she was also active in politics. In 2008, Kabori was elected as Member of Parliament (MP) from Narayanganj-4 constituency on the nomination of Awami League(AL).