Joy casts vote at City College centre

Dhaka, Wednesday   26 June 2019

Joy casts vote at City College centre

 ‍Staff Correspondent

 Published: 11:40 AM, 30 December 2018   Updated: 12:12 PM, 30 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s ICT Adviser Sajeeb Ahmed Wazed Joy cast his vote in the 11th parliamentary elections on Sunday morning.

Joy, ‍also son of the Prime Minister, cast his vote at Dhaka City College centre at Dhanmondi at 10.25 am. 

After casting his vote, Joy urged the country's people, especially, the young and first-time voters, not to vote for those who are contesting the election by forming alliance with war criminals and anti-liberation forces.

He said Oikyafront has been hatching conspiracy to foil the election and urged all to remain alert against it. He said Oikyafront led by BNP-Jamaat will be bound to stop their politics of conspiracy and killing after the election.

Earlier in the morning, Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina cast her vote at the same polling center at 8:00 am.  Bangabandhu’s younger daughter Sheikh Rehana and Sheikh Hasina’s daughter Saima Wazed Putul and Barrister Sheikh Fazley Noor Taposh were present at this time.

Amid much enthusiasm and festivity, voting in the parliamentary elections began at 8:00 am and will continue till 4:00 pm without any break.

A total of 1,861 candidates are vying for the polls. Among them, 1,733 are from political parties and 128 independents.

A total of 10, 42, 38,677 voters, including 5, 25, 72,365 male and 5,16,66,312 female, will cast their votes at 206,477 polling booths of the 40,183 voting centers in 299 constituencies across the country.

However, the election in Gaibandha-3 constituency has been deferred due to the death of a candidate and voting for the seat will be held on January 27.

The EC will take votes using Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at all polling booths in six constituencies for the first time. The constituencies are- Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.

In compliance with new electoral rules, a total of 39 registered political parties are contesting the polls.

About 608,000 members of law enforcement agencies, 66 returning officers, will perform their responsibilities to conduct the election across the country.

A total of 4,0183 presiding officers, 20, 7,312 assistant presiding officers and 4,14,624 polling officers have been appointed for conducting the election while about 1,328 executive magistrates will be deployed and 640 judicial magistrates will work in 122 electoral inquiry committees during the polls.