Ireland to bat against Namibia...

Dhaka, Wednesday   08 December 2021

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Ireland to bat against Namibia

 Sports Desk

 Published: 03:55 PM, 22 October 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

Ireland captain Andy Balbirnie has won the toss and decided to bat first in a ‘do-or-die’ match against Namibia. Those who win today’s match will go to the Super 12 round.

The match will start at 4 pm on Friday at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Ireland played their first match in the tournament against the Netherlands - where they crushed the Dutch by a huge margin of seven wickets. However, they stumbled in the next match and lost to Sri Lanka by 70 runs.

Newcomers Namibia, on the other hand, lost their first match against Sri Lanka. They surprised everyone by beating the Netherlands in the next match. Winning today will be a unique achievement in the history of cricket in the country. 

Sri Lanka has already confirmed the Super 12. Ireland and Namibia won one each. As a result, those who win today will advance to the next round. 


Ireland: Paul Stirling, Kevin O’Brien, Andy Balbirnie (capt), Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Neil Rock (wk), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Josh Little, Craig Young

Namibia: Zane Green (wk), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (capt), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Pikky Ya France, Ruben Trumpelmann, Michael van Lingen, Bernard Scholtz.