Independence Award to be handed over today...

Dhaka, Friday   27 November 2020

Independence Award to be handed over today

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:07 AM, 29 October 2020  

Independence Award; File Photo

Independence Award; File Photo

Independence Award 2020 (Swadhinata Padak), which was postponed due to Covid-19, will be handed over to the recipients on Thursday. The award will be presented at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital in the morning. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will take part in the program through a videoconference from Ganobhaban.

The information was given to the media from the press wing of the Prime Minister on Wednesday.

This year’s Independence Award recipients are Member of Parliament Golam Dastagir Gazi (Bir Pratik), Commander Abdur Rouf (posthumous), Md Anwar Pasha (posthumous) and Azizur Rahman for Independence and Liberation War; Prof Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Prof Dr AKMA Muqtadir for medical science; SM Raij Uddin Ahmed (Freedom Fighter) for literature; Kalipad Das and Ferdousi Mazumder for culture; and Bharateswari Homes for education.

The program will be broadcasted live on various satellite televisions, radios and online including Bangladesh Television (BTV), Bangladesh Betar.

Earlier, all programs including paying homage to the National Martyrs’ Memorial on Independence Day March 26 were canceled due to public health concerns to prevent coronavirus outbreak in the country. At the same time, the awarding of the Swadhinata Padak was also postponed.

It is to be noted that the government has nominated 9 eminent persons and one organization for the Independence Award 2020 in recognition of their ‘glorious and meritorious’ contribution at the national level. It is the highest state civilian award in the country. The government has been giving this award every year since 1977 on the occasion of Independence Day March 26.