Independence Award not being given on Apr 11...

Dhaka, Saturday   17 April 2021

Independence Award not being given on Apr 11

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 09:59 AM, 8 April 2021   Updated: 01:39 PM, 8 April 2021

File Photo

File Photo

The Independence Award will not be given on April 11. 

The information has been obtained through a government statement on Wednesday.

It was said that the pre-scheduled ‘Independence Award 2021’ will not be held on April 11 at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital. The Cabinet Division announced the decision in a notification.

In recognition of their glorious and meritorious contribution at the national level, 9 eminent individuals and an organization are receiving the 2021 Independence Award. On March 8, the Cabinet Division released the list of nominees for the Independence Award.

The award ceremony was scheduled to be held on March 24 at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium. As the Covid-19 outbreak was on the rise, the March 24 event was postponed and a new date, April 11, was set. However, the April 11 program was also postponed for the same reason.

Those who are receiving Independence Award 2021 —

Independence and Liberation War: Late AKM Bazlur Rahman, Shaheed Ahsanullah Master, Late Bir Freedom Fighter Brigadier General Khurshid Uddin Ahmed, Late Akhtaruzzaman Chowdhury Babu.

Science and Technology: Mrinmoy Guha Neogi.

Literature: Mahadev Saha.

Culture: Ataur Rahman, Gazi Mazharul Anwar.

Social Service/Public Service: Professor Dr. M Amjad Hossain

Research and Training: Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council.

The Independence Award is the highest state award in the country. The government has been giving this award every year since 1986 on the occasion of Independence Day on March 26.

The person or organization who awarded the Independence Award was given an 18-carat 50-gram gold medal, a replica of the medal, Tk three lakh and a certificate.