Alexa ICC breakes silence over overthrow controversy

Dhaka, Friday   23 August 2019

Akash

ICC breakes silence over overthrow controversy

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 08:58 PM, 17 July 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has finally broken its silence on the overthrow controversy surrounding the World Cup final between England and New Zealand.

England won their first World Cup after winning a thriller against Black Caps by virtue of boundary count. The the match ended in a tie before heading into the Super Over which also concluded in a tie.

England were awarded six runs off the fourth ball of the last over while chasing the target of 242.

The hosts were awarded 6 runs after an overthrow from Martin Guptill took an edge off Ben Stokes' bat while he was diving to complete his second run and ran away for a four. After being awarded six runs off the delivery, England were left to get 3 runs off the final two balls, they managed to get two and tie the match as it went into a Super Over.

However, a controversy has now emerged on whether England were awarded an extra run in the final. According to ICC's rule, extra runs are awarded in case of overthrows only when the batsmen have crossed before the balls is thrown.

DailyBangladesh/Sohug