Alexa Hasina, Sharmin file nomination forms for Rangpur-6

Dhaka, Sunday   26 January 2020


Hasina, Sharmin file nomination forms for Rangpur-6

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 10:16 PM, 27 November 2018   Updated: 10:28 PM, 27 November 2018

File Photo

File Photo

Both Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Speaker of the Jatiya Sangsad Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Tuesday submitted their nomination papers to contest the general election from Rangpur-6 (Pirganj).

Dr Shirin submitted two nomination papers -- one for Sheikh Hasina and another for herself- to assistant returning officer and Pirganj Upazila Nirbahi Officer TMA Momen around 12:30pm.

She first handed over Sheikh Hasina's nomination paper to the assistant returning officer.

After submission of the nomination papers, the Speaker said it is not her personal matter. "The party will decide who will contest the election from the constituency," she added.

Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Administration Ministry HN Ashequr Rahman and Upazila chairman Nur Mohammad Mandal, Pirganj municipality mayor Tazimul Islam Shamim and acting president of Pirganj Upazila Awami League Azizur Rahman Ranga were present during submission of the nomination papers.

In 2014, Sheikh Hasina was elected from two constituencies --Rangpur-6 and Gopalganj-3-- in the January-5 parliamentary elections. But she vacated Rangpur-6 retaining Member of Parliament (MP) from Gopalganj-3.

Later, Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was elected MP in a by-election to Rangpur-6 (the parliamentary seat no-24).

Daily Bangladesh/Sohug