Habiganj municipality by-election underway...

Dhaka, Sunday   09 August 2020

Beximco LPG Gas

Habiganj municipality by-election underway

 Habiganj Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 12:45 PM, 24 June 2019   Updated: 04:22 PM, 24 June 2019

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

The by-election in Habiganj Municipality begun. Voting in EVMs is going on from 9:00 am in 20 centers on Monday. Security has been strengthened since Sunday night for the by-election. 

“Five candidates are contesting in the election. They are- Mizanur Rahman Mizan (Boat), M. Islam Tarafdar Tanu (Mobile Phone), Md. Mortuza Ali (Spoon), Advocate Niladri Shekhar Purkayastha Titu (Coconut Tree), Syed Kamrul Hasan (Jag),” said Returning Officer Khurshid Alam.   

“Mayor ZK Ghosh resigned on November 28, 2018, to participate in the 11th Parliamentary elections. Then the post was declared vacant,” Khurshid Alam added.