Gono Forum MPs’ oath Mar 7...

Dhaka, Wednesday   23 September 2020

Gono Forum MPs’ oath Mar 7

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 09:43 AM, 4 March 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

Gono Forum lawmakers-elect Sultan Muhammad Monsur Ahmed and Mokabbir Khan will take oath as members of the 11th parliament on March 7.

They will be sworn in as Members of Parliament (MPs) at 11 am at the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Bhaban on the day, JS sources informed on Sunday night.

“We have received separate letters from the office of Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury for our oath-taking on March 7. We will join the parliament,” Sultan Monsur told the correspondent.

On Saturday, the duo MPs-elect sent letters to the Speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7.

Sultan Monsur, former vice-president of Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU), was elected Member of Parliament from Moulvibazar-2 constituency and Mokabbir Khan was elected from Sylhet-2 seat.

Opposition alliance the Jatiya Oikya Front, comprising mainly the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and the Gono Forum, secured eight seats in the 11th parliamentary polls held on December 30, 2018.