Alexa Gono Forum MP Mokabbir Khan sworn in 

Dhaka, Tuesday   15 October 2019


Gono Forum MP Mokabbir Khan sworn in 

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 02:37 PM, 2 April 2019   Updated: 06:04 PM, 2 April 2019



Gono Forum praesidium member Mokabbir Khan, elected from Sylhet-2 constituency, took oath as a member of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) on Tuesday, violating his party decision.

JS Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in of office to Mokabbir Khan around 12:15 pm at the JS Bhaban.

JS Senior Secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath taking ceremony while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury, Whips Iqbalur Rahim, Mahbub Ara Begum Gini and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan, among others, were present at the function.

Earlier on March 7, another MP of the Gono Forum Sultan Monsur, former vice-president of Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU), also took oath. He was elected from Moulvibazar-2 constituency.

Opposition alliance the Jatiya Oikya Front, comprising mainly the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and the Gono Forum, secured just eight seats in the 11th parliamentary polls held on December 30 last year. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two in the elections.