First government of independent Bangladesh formed on April 10...

Dhaka, Tuesday   18 May 2021

First government of independent Bangladesh formed on April 10

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:38 AM, 10 April 2021   Updated: 01:42 PM, 10 April 2021

File Photo

File Photo

April 10, a glorious day in the history of Bangladesh. On this day in 1971, the provisional government of independent Bangladesh was formed. Later, the government was sworn in on April 17 at Baidyanath Tala in the Meherpur district. 

Baidyanathtala, mainly a mango orchard, was later named Mujibnagar by the provisional governments' prime minister Tajuddin Ahmed. 

Following the Pakistan army’s dastardly attack on unarmed people on the night of March 25-26 in 1971, the first government of the independent People’s Republic of Bangladesh was formed on April 10 in 1971 comprising the elected representatives with Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as its President, Syed Nazrul Islam as Vice-President and Tajuddin Ahmed as Prime Minister.

On April 10, the elected representatives firmly supported and approved the declaration of independence by Bangabandhu on March 26, 1971, and issued a formal proclamation of independence.

In absence of Bangabandhu, who was arrested after declaration of country’s independence on the night of March 25 and kept in a jail in the then West Pakistan during the whole period of the liberation war, Vice President Syed Nazrul Islam was entrusted with the charge of Acting President.

The government was sworn in on April 17, 1971 in a ceremony at the mango-grove in Baidyanathtala.

A day after the swearing-in ceremony the portfolios of the government was distributed when M Mansur Ali was given the charge of minister for finance, commerce and industry, and AHM Quamaruzzaman was given the charge of minister for home, relief, rehabilitation and agriculture.

The Mujibnagar Government led the war of liberation in 1971 and freed the country from the clutches of Pakistani occupation forces on December 16 the same year, fighting a nine-month-long war.