Finn Allen tests positive for Covid-19...

Dhaka, Saturday   16 October 2021

Finn Allen tests positive for Covid-19

 Sports Desk

 Published: 07:09 PM, 24 August 2021   Updated: 07:17 PM, 24 August 2021

Finn Allen tests positive for Covid-19

Finn Allen tests positive for Covid-19

New Zealand opening batter Finn Allen has tested positive for COVID-19 on arrival in Bangladesh, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) confirmed on Tuesday (August 24). Allen tested positive 48 hours after his arrival in Dhaka despite having cleared his pre-departure tests in England where he was representing the Birmingham Phoenix in the Hundred. Despite being fully vaccinated, he is experiencing moderate symptoms, the statement added.

While he has been in quarantine, he is being treated by the BCB chief medical officer. "He has been in contact with NZC's chief medical officer and will be monitored during his stay in quarantine by BLACKCAPS doctor Pat McHugh," NZC's release said.

"It's really unfortunate for Finn," said Mike Sandle, New Zealand's manager. "He's comfortable at the moment and hopefully he'll recover quickly; test negative and be cleared and approved for discharge as soon as possible.

"The Bangladesh cricket authorities have been extremely professional in their response and we're grateful to them for that. They're treating the matter very seriously," he added.

The rest of the squad that departed Auckland on Monday night, will undergo a minimum three-day period of isolation in their rooms on their arrival in Dhaka.

A decision of Allen's availability and replacement will be made in due time. For now, post his period of isolation, he will need to have tested negative on consecutive days before he is allowed to rejoin the rest of the team.

New Zealand will play five T20Is in Dhaka, the first of which will be played on September 1. The next four matches will be played on September 3, 5, 8, and 10, respectively. All matches will start at 4 pm at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

New Zealand squad: Tom Latham (c, wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.