Fakir Alamgir’s Namaz-e-Janaza held in Khilgaon...

Dhaka, Sunday   19 September 2021

Fakir Alamgir’s Namaz-e-Janaza held in Khilgaon

 Entertainment Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 12:10 PM, 24 July 2021   Updated: 02:07 PM, 24 July 2021

Fakir Alamgir; File Photo

Fakir Alamgir; File Photo

The first Namaz-e-Janaza of Ekushy Padak awardee and country’s eminent folk singer Fakir Alamgir was held at 11:16 am on Saturday at Pallima Sangsad premises in Khilgaon in the capital.

Later, he will be buried in Khilgaon Taltola Cemetery after his second Namaz-e-Janaza at Matir Masjid after Zuhr prayers. 

Swadhin Bangla Betar Kendra singer Fakir Alamgir was breathed his last at the United Hospital in the capital at 10:56 pm on Friday. He was admitted to the hospital on July 15 after being infected with coronavirus or Covid-19.

The singer suffered a cardiac arrest around 10:00 pm at the Covid unit of the hospital where he was undergoing treatment for coronavirus complications while the duty doctor declared him dead at 10:56 pm. 

He is survived by his wife and three sons. 

Fakir Alamgir, who tested positive for Covid-19 and had been undergoing treatment at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of the United Hospital in the capital since July 15, was put on life support on July 19 night as his condition deteriorated. 

Born in Faridpur, Fakir Alamgir started his music career in 1966 and played a vital role as a singer in the 1969 uprising in then East Pakistan.

He worked with Swadhin Bangla Betar Kendra during the Liberation War and founded the cultural organization "Wrishiz Shilpi Gosthi" in 1976. He also served as the president of Gono Sangeet Shamanya Parishad (GSSP).

As a writer, Alamgir published his first book 'Chena China' in 1984. His next two publications were Muktijuddher Smriti Bijoyer Gaan and Gono Sangeeter Otit O Bortoman. In 2013, he published three books - Amar Kotha, Jara Achhen Hridoy Potey and Smriti Alaponey Muktijuddho. So far, Alamgir has authored nine books.

The noted singer was awarded different awards, including Ekushey Padak, Bhashani Padak and Sequence Award of Honour.