Alexa Ershad takes oath

Dhaka, Tuesday   23 July 2019

Ershad takes oath

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:43 PM, 6 January 2019   Updated: 12:54 PM, 6 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Jatiya Party Chairman Hussein Muhammad Ershad was sworn in as the MP of the eleventh Parliament on Sunday. 
He took oath at around 12 pm. 

Party secretary General Mashiur Rahman Ranga confirmed the information to Daily Bangladesh.

Jatiya Party's 22 MPs have been elected in the eleventh parliamentary elections held on 30 December; of these, except Ershad, the others took oath on Thursday (January 3).

Although the Jatiya Party came to power in the grand alliance with the Awami League, Ershad wrote the Speaker on Saturday that they should play a role in the parliament as an opposition party. He will be the chairman of the party himself as the opposition leader. His brother and Jatiya Party's co-chairman GM Quader will perform as the Deputy Leader. JaPa secretary general, Ranga will be the opposition Chief Whip.

In the last 10th parliament, the Jatiya Party was the opposition party but it was in the cabinet too. The party's chairman Ershad was the minister as the special envoy to the Prime Minister.