England announces squad for Ashes tour...

Dhaka, Wednesday   27 October 2021

England announces squad for Ashes tour

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 02:26 PM, 11 October 2021  

The England team; Photo: Collected

The England team; Photo: Collected

The Ashes, the oldest and most traditional competition in the history of test series between Australia and England, is more important to many fans than the Cricket World Cup. For this. the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the squad for the upcoming series. 

Stuart Broad has returned to the squad after recovering from an injury. However, Ben Stokes was not added. Besides, Sam Curran has been ruled out due to injury. Olly Stone did not get a place on the team. In a statement on Sunday, the ECB announced a 17-member squad.

Dom Bess has been announced as the backup spinner with Jack Leach. Dan Lawrence and Zak Crawley will be the reserve batsmen. Jos Buttler will be in the team with Jonny Bairstow as a recognized wicketkeeper.

If all goes well, the first Test of the Ashes will start on December 6 in The Gabba, Brisbane. The day-night Test will start on December 16 in Adelaide. The 3rd and Boxing Day Test will be held in Melbourne. New Year Test in Sydney will be held on January 5. The last Test of the series will be in Perth on January 14.

England’s 17-member Ashes squad:

Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes,  Mark Wood.