Alexa Elias DRU president, Kabir general secretary

Dhaka, Monday   19 August 2019


Elias DRU president, Kabir general secretary

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 10:41 PM, 30 November 2018   Updated: 10:41 PM, 30 November 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Elias Hossain of private television channel SA TV and Kabir Ahmed Khan of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha were elected president and general secretary of Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) respectively for 2019 in an election held on Friday.

Elias Hossain bagged 641 votes while his nearest rival Monir Hossain Liton polled 496.

Kabir Ahmed Khan got 450 votes to defeat Reaz Chowdhury by 10 votes.

Khondoker Kaosar Hossain was elected vice-president getting 416 votes and Jamiul Ahasan Sipu was elected joint secretary uncontested.

The other elected office-bearers are finance secretary Ziaul Haque Sabuj, organising secretary Afzal Bari, office secretary Md Jehad Hossain Chowdhury, women affairs secretary Sajida Islam Parul, publicity and publication secretary SK Mahmud A Riyat, training and research secretary Abdul Hai Tuhin, sports secretary Shafiqul Islam Shameem, cultural secretary Md Emdadul Haque Khan, entertainment secretary HM Akter and welfare secretary Kawsar Azam.

The executive members are Mohiuddin, Khalid Saifullah, BM Nur Alam (Badal Nur), Mohammad Maksudul Hassan, Mohammad Naimuddin, Rashedul Haque, Md Shahabuddin Mahtab and Khondoker Faruque Ahmed.