Alexa Ebadat removes Pujara, 3 down for India

Dhaka, Friday   06 December 2019

Ebadat removes Pujara, 3 down for India

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:54 PM, 22 November 2019   Updated: 09:37 PM, 22 November 2019

Photo: ICC

Photo: ICC

India lost their third wicket as Ebadat Hossain bagged his 2nd wicket picking the wicket of Cheteshwar Pujara (55). He also sent back Rohit Sharma with a beautiful delivery and ended his innings when he was 21.

An outside off ball from Ebadot Hossain that nips back in and gets extra bounce which takes the batsman by surprise. Pujara pushes it and the ball goes to the second slip after getting a thick edge. Outcomes the salute from Ebadot. A well-deserved wicket.

India reached 151/3 in 44 over and lead by 64 runs. Viral Kohli 59 and Ajinkya Rahane (19) are in the crease.

Earlier, Bangladesh bowled out for 106 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata today. India reached 35-1 at tea break on the day one of the second and final Test.

Al-Amin, playing Test cricket for Bangladesh after five years, however Bangladesh the breakthrough, dismissing double centurion of the first Test Mayank Agarwal for 14.

Rohit Sharma was batting on 13 after being survived, thanks to Al-Amin Hossain who put down a simple catch at fine leg off Abu Jayed Rahi. Along with him, Cheteshwar Pujara was batting on 7.

Thereafter Rohit and Pujara saw off the session, wiping out one-third of their deficit. Rohit departs after the break as India lost their 2nd wicket to 43.

Earlier, opting to bat first, Bangladesh began their maiden day-night Test in worst possible fashion as they put up a wretched batting performance yet again to be skittled out for 106 in its first innings.

The innings came to an end just after the lunch on opening day after India’s pace-trio led by Ishant Sharma tormented Bangladesh in more cruel fashion than the Indore Test.

Ishant returned figures of 5-22, his 10th five-for in Test cricket while he was ably supported by his fellow colleagues Umesh Yadav (3-29) and Mohammed Shami (2-36).

Such was the pacers’ domination that the Indian spinners got just one over to bowl in their maiden day-night Test. While Ravindra Jadeja got this one over, another spinner Ravichandran Ashwin didn’t get a single over.

Only three Bangladeshi batsmen could reach the double-digit figure with opener Shadman Islam scoring the highest 29 after captain Mominul haque won the toss and opted to bat first. Liton Das, who retired hurt after being struck by his forehead, scored 24 and later was replaced by Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Nayeem Hasan was the other batsman to score 19. He was also struck by a bouncer on his head during batting and later was ruled out from the match. He was replaced by Taijul Islam.

The Test began after Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee rung the customary Eden Bell to mark the first ever pink ball Test on Indian soil.