Dhaka, Friday   19 April 2019

2nd day hearing finished

EC valid 78 candidates, cancel 65 in second day

Update with more detail

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 07:02 PM, 7 December 2018   Updated: 09:31 PM, 7 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk


Seventy-eight more aspirants, including 21 from BNP and one from Awami League, got back their candidacies on Friday as the Election Commission declared their nomination papers valid after hearing petitions for the 2nd day.

Besides, the Commission rejected 65 petitions and kept decisions pending over seven others.

The EC, the appellate authority, heard a total of 150 petitions on Friday.

Earlier on the first day on Thursday, the Commission heard some 160 petitions and declared 80 nomination papers valid.

With this, some 158 contestants got back their candidatures in the last two days. The three-day hearing will end on Saturday.

During the 2nd-day hearing, BNP got back their single candidate in Shariatpur-1 constituency as the EC declared nomination paper of Sardar AKM Nasir Uddin valid overturning the decision of thereturning officer.

Earlier on Thursday, BNP got back their single candidatesin four other constituencies -- Bogura-7, Jamalpur-4, Manikganj-2 and Dhaka-1 - after the Commission's 1st-day hearing.

Besides, the Commission okayed the candidacies of 12 independent aspirants while eight of Jatiya Party (Ershad), four of Jasod (Inu), one of Gano Forum, one of LDP, two of JSD, six of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, six of Zaker Party, five of CPB, two of Islami Oikyajote, two of Khelafat Majlish, one of Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish, three of NPP,one of Bangladesh Islamic Front and two of BNF contestants.

Gano Forum aspirant and former Finance Minister Shah AMS Kibria's sonDr Reza Kibria got back his candidature for Habiganj-1 constituency with the EC's decision. Earlier, the returning officer had turned down his nomination paper for credit card default during the scrutiny.

However, the EC rejected the petitions of removed Jatiya Party secretary general Ruhul Amin Hawlader (Patuakhali-1) and Ganajagaran Mancha spokesperson Imran H Sarkar (Kurigram-4) who challenged the decisions of respective returning officers cancelling their nomination papers during the scrutiny.

The 21 valid BNP candidates are Mohammad Zia Uddin and Abdul Khaleque for Brahmanbaria-6, Muslim Uddin for Brahmanbaria-4, Abu Ahmed Hasnat for Chattogram-7, Matiar Rahman Talukder for Barguna-1, Golam Nabi Alamgir for Bhola-1, Shahidul Alam Talukder for Patuakhali-2, AKM Moazzem Hossain for Dhaka-16, Khaled Saifullah Sohel Khan for Kishoreganj-1, Mainul Islam Khan for Manikganj-2, Md Abdullah for Munshiganj-1, Nadira Akter for Madaripur-1, Fahima Hussain Jubilee for Dhaka-1, Saiful Islam Sumon for Kishoreganj-3, Mamun Mahmud for Narayanganj-4, Ebadur Rahman Chowdhury for Moulvibazar-1, Dewan Joynul Zakereen for Sunamganj-4, Nur Mohammad Khan for Tangail-6, Sardar AKM Nasir Uddin for Shariatpur-1, Rashiduzzaman Millatfor Jamalpur-1 and Abu Taher Talukder for Netrakona-5.

The EC, the appellate authority, declared AL's Zakir Hossain as a valid contestant for Kurigram-4 changing the decision of the returning officer.

The valid independent candidates include Gias Uddin and Md Saifullah (Humayun Mia) for Brahmanbaria-2, Hasan Mahmud Chowdhury for Chattogram-8, AK Faizul Haque and Syed Rubina Akter for Barishal-2,Mohammad Gias Uddin for Narayanganj-4, Abul Kashem and Ashraful Islam for Tangail-6,Al Amin Mollah for Madaripur-2, Abdul Hannan for Habiganj-1, Mahmud Hasan Sumon for Mymensigh-8 and Shafiqul Islam for Patuakhali-2.

The eight Jatiya Party's valid candidates are Khorshed Alam Khushu for Chandpur-5, Masud Parvez (film actor Sohel Rana) for Barishal-2, Salauddin Khoka for Narayanganj-4, Mahmuda Rahman Munni for Dhaka-8, Amanat Hossain for Dhaka-16, Selim Uddin for Sylhet-5, Ershad Hossain for Kishoreganj-2 and SM Abdul Mannan for Manikganj-2.

The six Islami Andolan Bangladesh's valid candidates are Md Sultan Ahmmad Khan for Dhaka-3, Md Salauddin (Rubel) for Kishoreganj-2, Mohammad Musa Khan for Kishoreganj-6, Abdul Latif Miah for Tangail-8, M Habibullah for Mymensingh-1 and Amanullah Sarkar for Mymensingh-11.

The four valid contestants of Inu-led Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasod) are Jaidul Kabir for Narsingdi-2, Jahirul Haque Mandol Bachchu for Gazipur-3, Selina Sultana for Kishoreganj-5 and Kumaresh Chandra Ray for Rangpur-2.

The six Zaker Party's valid contenders are Abdur Rashid for Patuakhali-1, Md Badsha Mia for Barishal-1, Md Badal Kazi for Shariatpur-2, Md Shahnewaz for Madaripur-1, Shamsuddin Ahmed for Dhaka-1 and Jahirul Islam for Mymensingh-5.

The five CPB's valid runners are Sushanta Bhaoyal for Shariatpur-3, Nurul Islam for Kishoreganj-2, Dr Enamul Haque (Idris) for Kishoreganj-3,Sukanta Shafi Chowdhury for Dhaka-2 and Ataur Rahman for Faridpur-4.

The other valid candidates areLDP's MA Karim Abbasi for Netrakona-1,Islami Oikyajote's Altaf Hossain for Cumilla-1 and MA Matin Chowdhury for Sylhet-5, Khelafat Majlish's Syed Mujibur Rahman for Tangail-7, Saifuddin Ahmed Khandaker for Dhaka-18, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish's Md Azizul Haque for Sunamganj-4, NPP's Mamunur Rahman for Tangail-6, SM Chan Miah for Tangail-3, Md Delwar for Sunamganj-4,Bangladesh Islamic Front's SM Sarwar for Dhaka-8, Rob-led JSD Abdur Rahman for Kishoreganj-1 and Shahiduddin Mahmud for Dhaka-18, and BNF's Ataur Rahman Khan for Tangail-3 and Sultan Mahmud for Tangail-6.

The seven aspirants whose fate was kept pending are BNP's Amanullah Aman for Dhaka-2, Afroza Abbas for Dhaka-9 and Sultan Ahmed for Dhaka-20, Islami Oikyajote's Mehedi Hasan for Brahmanbaria-5, Bangladesh Muslim League (BML) aspirant Syed Shah Mubassir Ali for Sunamganj-3, and independent aspirants CM Sadique for Rangpur-1 and Afroza Bari Shahbaz for Gaibandha-1.

Out of 65 rejected petitions, seven were filed against the acceptance of nomination papers.

A total of 543 petitions were filed with the EC challenging the decisions of returning officers over rejection and acceptance of nomination papers submitted to contest th11 the general election slated for December 30.