Cyclone ‘Bayu’, ‘Hikka’ after ‘Fani’...

Dhaka, Thursday   09 July 2020

Beximco LPG Gas

Cyclone ‘Bayu’, ‘Hikka’ after ‘Fani’

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 05:21 PM, 2 May 2019  



Cyclone ‘Fani’ become a super cyclone with hurricane intensity. It is coming towards the coast by changing the course of direction every time. Though it supposed to hit Odisha first, Bangladesh is not free from its intensity.

According to meteorologists, the distance of ‘Fani’ is gradually decreasing from the coast of Bangladesh. Its’ size is larger than the size of Bangladesh. The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration ‘NOAA’ predicts that the speed of the ‘Fani’ may turn to more than 210 kilometers per hour while coming out on the coast. 

How this name came? 

Bangladesh named the cyclone ‘Fani’ (or ‘Foni’). Regional Committee of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) named each storm.

Eight countries of the organization named the storms in the Indian Ocean. The countries are - Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Myanmar, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Oman.  The panel is called the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP).

The practice of naming the storms is not too old. The process has begun since 2000. Earlier, the storms were identified with numbers or letters. But those numbers were unaccountable to the general people. As a result, it was also difficult to predict them, warn people or ships or vessels.

The name of the storm began in the coastal countries of the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea since 2004. Eight countries offer 64 names in total. Now, if the name of cyclone ‘Fani’ excluded, there are seven names remain. 

According to India’s proposal, the next storm will be named ‘Bayu’. Six more storms are still on the list. They are- Hikka, Kayar, Maha, Bulbul, Paban and Amphan. When these storms will be finished, the new name will be given again in a meeting.  

After seven storms, Bangladesh will name four storms. The proposed name of the cyclone given by India- Agni, Akash, Bijli, Jol, Lohor, Megh, Sagar.  

Before that, the storm was named after Britain or Australia. The storm in the Indian Ocean is called ‘Cyclone’, but the storm in the Atlantic Ocean called ‘Hurricane’, storm in the Pacific Ocean is called ‘Typhoon’.