Country sees major reshuffle in police for first time...

Dhaka, Thursday   29 October 2020

Country sees major reshuffle in police for first time

 HM Faridul Alam Shaheen, Cox’s Bazar

 Published: 07:17 PM, 25 September 2020   Updated: 09:01 PM, 25 September 2020

File Photo

File Photo

For the first time in the history of the country, 1347 policemen have been transferred from Cox’s Bazar district at the same time. Among them are OCs of eight police stations, 53 inspectors, 139 SIs, 92 ASIs and 1,055 naibs and constables.

They were transferred in a gazette notification signed by Dr. Md. Moinur Rahman Chowdhury, Additional Inspector General (Administration) of Police headquarters.

The transferees have to leave their old workplaces by September 29 and have been asked to attend a briefing on September 30. They were asked to appear at the police auditorium in Rajarbagh in the capital later that day.

The gazette notification said the police members have been transferred to different ranges in the public interest until further notice with the consent of the Election Commission Secretariat.

Meanwhile, the transfer has not been made in six units, two battalions each, for PBI, APBN, PIB and Tourist Police.

“The police headquarters in Dhaka had decided a whole new set of police would join Cox’s Bazar. And those who have been working here for so long will go elsewhere,” said Cox’s Bazar ASP Mohammad Hasanuzzaman, informing that he joined the district a day earlier (Thursday) as SP. 

People see such a change in the police as positive. Earlier, it was alleged that many officers had been transferred from one police station to another in Cox’s Bazar district through lobbying. For example – OC Pradeep Kumar Das has served in Ukhiya Thana, Cox’s Bazar Sadar Model Thana, Maheshkhali Thana and lastly Teknaf Thana.

According to the police headquarters, 139 SIs, 92 ASIs, 1,055 1,055 naibs and constables were transferred to different ranges on Friday. Earlier on Thursday, 53 inspectors were transferred. 53 inspectors, 215 SI-ASIs and 634 constables are joining the Chattogram Range DIG’s office on Friday to fill the vacancies.

The newly appointed OCs of the eight new police stations in Cox’s Bazar are –  Sheikh Munir ul Gias from Satkhira, Md. Hafizur Rahman from Sirajganj, Ahmed Sanjur Morshed from Sunamganj, Md. Abdul Hai from Naogain, Shaker Mohammad Jubayer from Gopalganj, KM Ajmiruzzaman from Nilphamari, Md. Saifur Rahman Majumdar from DMP Dhaka, and Md. Jalal Uddin from Moulvibazar.

Besides, the 29 police inspectors have been posted for Cox’s Bazar district. 

Earlier, Cox's Bazar SP ABM Masud Hossain was transferred as Rajshahi SP. On the other hand, SP Mohammad Hasanuzzaman of Jhenaidah was given the charge of SP in Cox’s Bazar. The new SP took charge on Thursday.