Alexa Concussed Liton, Nayeem replaced by Miraz, Taijul

Dhaka, Friday   06 December 2019

Concussed Liton, Nayeem replaced by Miraz, Taijul

 Sports Desk

 Published: 07:00 PM, 22 November 2019   Updated: 07:03 PM, 22 November 2019

File Photo

File Photo

While Bangladesh was left in the concerned situation following a wretched batting display, the situation became more complicated after Liton Das and Nayeem Hasan got injured during the first innings to be left out from the team.

Liton was firstly retired hurt after being blown by Indian pacers bouncer twice in consecutive overs. He was on 24, after dealing with Indian pacers with utmost confidence.

Liton was replaced by Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who batted in his place to score 8.

Nayeem also struck by a bouncer on his helmet during batting. His condition was understood once he returned to dressing room after being dismissed on 19. He was one of the three Bangladeshi batsmen to reach double digit figure in their first innings, in which they were skittled out for 106. Nayeem later was replaced by Taijul Islam.

This is the first time that two players were replaced by the other players, as per ICC’s latest concussion rule. And Bangladesh made this history in their very first day-night Test match.

As per concussion rule, Taijul would bowl only in this match while Miraz will just only bat.

The first use of such a substitute was during the Second Test at Lord’s in the 2019 Ashes series between England and Australia, when Steve Smith was hit on the neck by a bouncer by Jofra Archer in the first innings. He was later diagnosed as having suffered concussion and was ruled out of the remainder of the Test. Marnus Labuschagne was named as the official replacement for Smith and came to bat on the final day of the Test.

In the second Test between India and West Indies, Jermaine Blackwood was named replacement for an injured Darren Bravo and batted in the same innings. At the end of that innings Shannon Gabriel became the first person in test cricket to bat at number 12 in the batting order.