Alexa Bijoy, Taijul call up for Sri Lanka series

Dhaka, Monday   19 August 2019


Bijoy, Taijul call up for Sri Lanka series

 Sports Desk

 Published: 04:20 PM, 16 July 2019   Updated: 04:28 PM, 16 July 2019

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today announced 14-man squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour. Wicketkeeper-batsman Anamul Haque Bijoy and Left-hand spinner Taijul Islam has been called up for the three-match ODI series.

Anamul replaces Liton Das while Taijul replaces Shakib Al Hasan, with both Shakib and Liton having taken a break for the series. 

Abu Jayed Rahi, the pacer who was with the World Cup squad but did not get a game, has been excluded from the Sri Lanka tour while the rest of the members of the World Cup squad will travel. 

"Shakib and Liton are not going to Sri Lanka. So we included Bijoy and Taijul in their position. Since Bijoy played well in domestic cricket, we included him while we needed a left-arm spinner in place of Shakib and Taijul was the choice. Rahi has been included from the World Cup squad," chief selector Minhajul Abedin told reporters on Tuesday.

Tigers leave the country for Sri Lanka to play ODI series on July 20. The three-match series will kick-off on July 26. The second and third match will be played on July 28 and 31 respectively.

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Anamul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam