Biden announces names of 6 Cabinet picks...

Dhaka, Thursday   21 January 2021

Biden announces names of 6 Cabinet picks

 International Desk

 Published: 01:06 PM, 24 November 2020   Updated: 11:24 AM, 25 November 2020

Joe Biden announces names of 6 Cabinet picks; Photo: Collected

Joe Biden announces names of 6 Cabinet picks; Photo: Collected

Joe Biden has officially announced the names of six possible Cabinet members after leading by a wide margin in the US presidential election – among them are former President Barack Obama’s top State Department officials.

Former Secretary of State John Kerry, who has signed a nuclear deal with Iran, has been named Special Presidential Envoy for Climate by Biden. During his campaign, Biden said he would return the United States to the “Paris Climate Agreement” on the first day of his presidency. 

Assistant Secretary of State Anthony Blinken of the Barack Obama administration has been named Secretary of State in the Biden administration, and Jake Sullivan has been named National Security Adviser. Blinken and Sullivan both served as senior officials at John Kerry’s State Department in 2015.

Announcing the names of the six members of the Cabinet on Monday, Biden said, “I want to work with a team that will help me restore America’s image in the international arena so that I can meet the great challenges facing the world.”

The other three members of Biden’s cabinet – Alejandro Mayorkas as Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, Linda Thomas-Greenfield as UN Ambassador, and Avril Haines as Director of National Intelligence.

Meanwhile, President Donald Trump has made allegations since the election. He also announced to go to court without conceding the defeat. However, Trump said he agreed to hand over power after announcing the names of six members of Biden’s administration. He said the handover process should be done by the agency (GSA) in charge.