Bengali Calendar emanates from ‘Fasli Year’...

Dhaka, Monday   17 May 2021

Bengali Calendar emanates from ‘Fasli Year’

 Feature Desk

 Published: 02:17 PM, 13 April 2021   Updated: 03:05 PM, 13 April 2021

Bengali year mainly originated from ‘Fasli Year’

Bengali year mainly originated from ‘Fasli Year’

The Bangla Noboborsho (Bangla New Year) that came into effect in 1556 was previously known as ‘Fasli Year’. This new year count began to facilitate agriculture and tax collection. The new Bangla year is based on the Hijri Lunar Year and the Bengali Solar Year.

Beginning of Noboborsho

The royal year prevailing at that time was the ‘Hijri Year’, which was not possible to collect tax in the same month of every year of the lunar year. As a result, the Mughal Emperor Jalal-ud-din Muhammad Akbar felt the need to introduce a solar-based year, which would be consistent with the timing of crop production by farmers.

Although this new year was introduced in the 29th-year of Akbar’s reign, it was reckoned from 5 November 1556 AD – because, on the same day, he defeated Himu in the Second Battle of Panipat. It was 963 AH as per the then Hijri calendar.

Subtracting the current year 2020 AD from the year 1556 of Akbar’s accession to the throne shows that (2020-1556) = 464. Adding the subsequent Hijri year 963 AH to this subtraction gives (963+464) = 1427 – which indicates the present Bangla year.

Mughal Emperor Akbar introduced the Bengali year to facilitate tax collection

Naming of Bengali Year’s 12 months

Farvardin, Khordad, Tir, Mordad, Shahrivar, Aban, Azar, Day, Baehman — these were the names of the month in the beginning. Later the months of the Bengali year were named as per the Stellar Law. Experts believe that these names are derived from the ‘Shakabda’ that was used during the reign of the Shaka Era in 78 AD.

The Bangla months came from – 1. Vaisakha to Boishakh, 2. Jyeshtha to Joishtho, 3. Ashadha to Asharh, 4. Sravana to Shrabon, 5. Bhadra to Bhadro, 6. Ashwina to Ashshin, 7. Kartika to Kartik, 8. Agrahayana to Ogrohayon, 9. Pausha to Poush, 10. Magha to Magh, 11. Phalguna to Falgun, 12. Chaitra to Choitro.