Alexa Banks in poll areas to remain closed on Thursday

Dhaka, Monday   23 September 2019


Banks in poll areas to remain closed on Thursday

 Economy Desk

 Published: 10:09 PM, 26 February 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

All the branches of scheduled banks will remain closed on Thursday in the election areas across the country, according to a circular of Bangladesh Bank (BB) issued here today.

The branches of the commercial banks at Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) and expanded part of the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) areas will remain closed to enable bank officials and employees to cast their votes.

The other areas where banks will remain closed are Amtali municipality area of Barguna district, Kaliganj municipality area of Jhenaidah district, Azimpur, Farrukhabad and Biral unions of the Biral Upazila under Dinajpur district, Bhir Betagoir and Char Betagoir unions under Nandil upazila in Mymensingh district, Kachikata union under Badarganj Upazila in Shariatpur District, Galimpur union under Barura upazila in Cumilla district, Nanupur and Khiram unions under Fatikchhari upazila in Chattogram district and Patuakhali municipality.