Bangladesh’s Zahin elected UN’s ‘Young Leader’...

Dhaka, Tuesday   27 October 2020

Bangladesh’s Zahin elected UN’s ‘Young Leader’

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:09 PM, 18 September 2020   Updated: 10:23 PM, 18 September 2020

Zahin of Bangladesh has been elected as the ‘Young Leader’ of the United Nations; Photo: Collected

Zahin of Bangladesh has been elected as the ‘Young Leader’ of the United Nations; Photo: Collected

The 22-year-old Zahin Razeen from Bangladesh has been elected along with the 16 as ‘Young Leaders’ in 2020 to work towards the goal of sustainable development or SDGs by the United Nations. The selection of young leaders by the UN is essentially the world’s most recognized platform for those involved in working with the SDGs.

The United Nations recognizes the world’s most talented youths, between the ages of 18 to 29, as leaders every two years. 

About Zahin, Jayathma Wickramanayake, United Nations Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth, told PTI that the UN was celebrating its 75th anniversary in an unprecedented time. This activity is an example of how young leaders are leading the way in achieving the SDGs.

At just 22 years of age, Jahin of Bangladesh has taken several technology-based initiatives. This includes work on water security and development, language learning and artificial intelligence.

He is also a collaborator on the ‘Clinton Global Initiative and Resolution’ project.

Zahin’s ‘Quantum Polychemics’ has been able to produce non-toxic, organic polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHA) based biopolymers. Biopolymers are completely changeable and environmentally friendly. 

The project is currently producing synthetic bioplastics using nano-engineering through bioreactors with jute dust from jute mills and mills. The polymer products made from it dissolve in the liquid in just 10 minutes and in the soil in a month. These products will be used as an alternative in plastic polybags, packaging.

Besides Bangladesh, the remaining 16 young leaders have been selected from Australia, Brazil, India, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ireland, Liberia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Senegal, Turkey, Uganda and United States.