Bangladesh women`s team get Test status...

Dhaka, Monday   17 May 2021

Bangladesh women`s team get Test status

 Sports Desk

 Published: 03:35 PM, 2 April 2021  

Bangladesh women`s team get Test status

Bangladesh women`s team get Test status

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to grant ODI and Test status to all full-member women’s cricket teams. It means that Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, and Afghanistan are now free to play Test cricket.

The decision was taken at a recent board and committee meeting.

Bangladesh has been playing ODI and T20I cricket. This time, the Tigresses will also be able to play the most prestigious format test of cricket. Originally a virtual board meeting called for giving full ICC members ODI and Test status. As a result, Bangladesh women's team also got Test status as a full member of ICC.

Thus far, only ten teams, namely India, West Indies, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, South Africa, Netherlands, Ireland, England, Australia, and Pakistan have had the privilege of playing Test cricket.

Ireland played their first and last Test against Pakistan in 2000. The Irish lost to Pakistan by an innings and 54 runs in the lone Test match played in Dublin. Seven years later, the Netherlands played a Test against the South African women's team. The Dutch lost the match by 159 runs.

As far as Test cricket is concerned, England have played the highest number of women’s Test matches (95) followed by Australia (74). New Zealand and India have played 45 and 36 matches each. South Africa and West Indies have played 12 Tests each.

Pakistan have played three Tests while Sri Lanka have taken part in only one Test. Netherlands and Ireland are the only associate nations to play Test cricket.