Alexa Bangladesh wins 1st Gold in e-Asia Awards 2019

Dhaka, Monday   16 December 2019

Bangladesh wins 1st Gold in e-Asia Awards 2019

 Science & IT Desk

 Published: 08:15 PM, 21 November 2019  

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Bangladeshi digital payments and services platform ‘DMoney’ has won first place in the e-Asia Award 2019 for digital transformation in private sector.

Administrated by the Asia Pacific Council for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business (AFACT), e-Asia Gold Award 2019 competition was held among Asian tech giants from 24 countries and for the first time, Bangladesh has won the ‘Gold Award’.

The award ceremony was held at Swissotel in Bangkok, Thailand in the presence of global FinTech experts, investors, CIOs, CXOs and other technology decision-makers from Asia on Thursday.

DMoney Co-founder, Vice Chairman, and CEO Sonia Bashir Kabir said that she was extremely proud to represent her country.

“It gives me great pleasure to bring the Gold Award for Bangladesh. We’ve worked very hard in building our robust tech platform and it is gratifying to get global recognition,” she was quoted as saying in a media release.

DMoney Co-founder and Managing Director Aref Bashir said, “I’m very proud to have represented Bangladesh. It’s a testament to the hard work invested by the DMoney team and to the vision of the company.”

Bashir dedicated the award to the underserved population of the country whom they have pledged to serve by democratizing financial services.

In August 2019, APAC Business Headlines Magazine featured the DMoney wallet among the ‘10 most convenient wallets to watch in 2019’, making it the only wallet from South Asia to be successfully placed in the top 10.  

AFACT holds the e-Asia awards with the aims of raising awareness of digital transformation, promoting the achievement of AFACT member countries and economies in the development of trade facilitation, electronic business policies and activities, and initiatives for bridging the digital divide in the Asia Pacific Region.

The purpose of the e-Asia Awards is to recognize the significance and great effort made within the AFACT community and to encourage the exchange of best practices.

This year, the e-Asia Awards were presented in four categories, namely Trade Facilitation and e-Commerce; Digital Transformation (Public Sector); Digital Transformation (Private Sector); and Creating Inclusive Digital Opportunities.

DMoney won in the Digital Transformation (Private Sector) category for its innovation and contribution to the tech ecosystem in Bangladesh.