Bangladesh wants to start World Cup mission with victory...

Dhaka, Wednesday   01 December 2021

Bangladesh wants to start World Cup mission with victory

 Sports Desk

 Published: 04:21 PM, 16 October 2021  

Bangladesh wants to start World Cup mission with victory

Bangladesh wants to start World Cup mission with victory

Despite disappointing performance in the two warm-up matches, Bangladesh are upbeat to start their world cup missing with victory as they will take on Scotland in the second match of the opening day at the Al Amarat Cricket Ground.

The match which started at 8 pm Bangladesh time will be telecast live on Gazi TV and T-Sports.

Bangladesh are the favorites to top Group of B in the First Round where they have been drawn alongside Scotland, Oman and Papua New Guinea. 

The teams will face each other once in this episode from 17 to 21 October. The top two teams in the points table will play in the next round or super 12 round.

Favorite Bangladesh in the race to be the best in the group stage on the basis of T20 rankings. Scotland are Bangladesh's main opponents in Group B of the first round due to their strength and cricketing tradition. Scotland are confident after winning two warm-up matches against the Netherlands and Namibia.

Scotland once faced Bangladesh in this format on Dutch soil back to 2012. In that match, Bangladesh lost to Scottish. Richie Barrington played a winning knock of 100 runs off 58 balls. He is still the main player in the Scotland team.

Bangladesh come into the tournament with nine T20I wins in the calendar year, only behind South Africa who have 12. In fact, since losing to New Zealand in March away from home, Bangladesh have been close to unstoppable in T20Is, registering series wins over Zimbabwe (2-1), Australia (4-1) and New Zealand (3-2).

The T20 World Cup has not been the happiest of hunting grounds for Bangladesh.

They were one of the stories of the inaugural tournament in 2007, when they made it past the first group stage and into the Super 8s but through the 2009, 2010 and 2012 editions they failed to register a single win.

Bangladesh Squad: Mahmudullah (Captain), Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Saifuddin, Shamim Hossain